top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerowenaprice92

My favourite chapter


I recently completed an interview for a bookstragram blogger who asked some really challenging questions. One of the questions was what was my favourite scene to write and why?

I had to think about this. I didn't doubt that I have one but as it had been over a year since I last read or edited the book and I have written three books since then it didn't instantly come to mind. So logically I chose to look through my book and remember every chapter and scene to try and identify it. Almost instantly I discovered chapter two stood out.


As soon as turned the page to see the chapter heading I knew why this particular chapter was important to me. For the first several drafts of my novel the second chapter was actually the first chapter in the book. Naturally, I spent a lot of time on this chapter as it was vital the scene gripped readers. The second chapter is the chapter where the survivor Myrbeth first arrives and is accepted into the king's household. It is an important chapter with some surprising action it seemed perfect to engage my reader.


This only changed when I added the character of Mercy who was not a character I had ever imagined writing. Mercy's creation changed much about my book including how the slaughter at Twickgrove was portrayed to my readers. This also changed how Myrbeth's arrival at Hollthen was described. I was happy about the change not only because I was enthralled by the character of Mercy but also because it allowed me to put more detail in about the King and Queen and some of the Kingdom of Hollthen's traditions. I wanted particularly to share this with you as I am very pleased with how the second chapter and the book. I also wanted to remind readers that you can read the first chapter for free here on my website. Happy reading.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page